Despite reports of PKR’s initial reluctance, Pakatan Harapan has unanimously settled on Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad as the candidate for prime minister and Datuk Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail as his deputy should they make it to Putrajaya.

The announcement, which was made by Pakatan secretariat chief Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah, saw Dr Mahathir getting choked with emotion before going up to the stage to thank the delegates.

The decision was set in an agreement of cooperation, which was signed by Dr Mahathir as Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Pribumi) chairman, Dr Wan Azizah as PKR president, Pribumi president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yasin, DAP chairman Tan Kok Wai and Parti Amanah Negara (Amanah) president Moha­mad Sabu.