ICC Trophy 2017 Won

ICC Champions Trophy 2017: Pakistan lifts Champions Trophy, beat India by 180 runs

Pakistan beat India by 180 runs in the final of Champions Trophy here at Oval ground on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 339, India team were all out at 158 runs in the 31st over.

Hardik Pandya was the top-scorer for India with 76 runs. Ravindra Jadeja scored 54 runs off 32 balls, the fastest half-century in a world One Day International (ODI) final. Yuvraj Singh and Shikhar Dhawan racked up 22 and 21 runs respectively before being dismissed.

Leg spinner Shadab Khan picked up the wickets of KM Jadhav and Yuvraj Sindh while Hasan Ali got the wickets of Dhoni, Ashwin and Jasprit Bumrah. Mohammad Amir took the wickets of Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli and Shikhar Dhawan

Earlier, Pakistan set a 339-run target for India, the second highest total posted by Pakistan against India, in the Champions Trophy final.

Pakistan made 338 for the loss of four wickets in allotted 50 overs.

Mohammad Hafeez notched an aggressive 57 off 37 balls not out while Imad scored 25 (not out).

Babar Azam was out after playing a mistimed shot straight into the Yuvraj Singh’s hands at 46 in the 43rd over.

Shoaib Malik left the field after Kedhar Jadhav caught him playing a mistimed shot over the mid-off in the 40th over. Opener Fakhar Zaman fell after scoring 114 off 106 balls.

Pakistan’s 100-plus opening stand was broken as Azhar Ali was run out after a misunderstanding at 59, leaving Pakistan one down for 128.

Both the Pakistani openers – Azhar and Fakhar Zaman – smashed fifties, seeing Pakistan off to a soaring start as India rued missed chances.

Fakhar was given a second life when he was caught behind off a no-ball by Bumrah earlier in the inning.

Earlier, Indian skipper Virat Kohli won the toss and as expected decided to bowl first in Champions Trophy final against Pakistan, here at The Oval.